The crypto space has grown at a breakneck pace over the course of the past few years and a fair share of the credit for that should go to mega crypto exchanges like Coinbase. Over the years, the company has introduced a wide range of products that have managed to further expand the crypto ecosystem, and on Thursday, it made another major announcement.

The company announced that it is going to add support to five new cryptocurrencies for the VISA debit card that it issues. In addition to that, it added that the card will now be available in 10 more countries in Europe.

Key Expansion

The five cryptocurrencies that have been added to the Coinbase Card include Stellar (XLM), XRP, Augur (REP), Basic Attention Token (BAT), and Ox (TRAX). The card already provides support for Litecoin (LTC), Bitcoin (BTC), Ethereum (ETH), and Bitcoin Cash (BCH) at this point in time. So, holders of this card will now be able to spend with as many as nine different cryptocurrencies. The company also announced the 10 new European countries in which the card will now be supported.

The card will now be supported in Sweden, Liechtenstein, Bulgaria, Croatia, Iceland, Romania, Hungary, Norway, Croatia, and Denmark. The double announcement of support for five more cryptocurrencies and expansion into 10 European nations is a hugely significant development. The CEO of the UK arm of Coinbase, Zeeshan Feroz, spoke about the developments:

>> Kik “Void for Vagueness” Plea Against SEC Dismissed by Judge

“By more than doubling the number of assets our customers can spend on Coinbase Card, as well as introducing the card to 10 new countries, Coinbase continues to help drive crypto’s role as a utility, and not just an investment.”

The card issued by the company has gained traction over the past months, and one can expect it to now grow at a faster rate due to these alterations.

Featured image: DepositPhotos © LDProd

If You Liked This Article Click To Share